New Music Monday: KL Patterson


Happy New Music Monday! This week we had the pleasure of interviewing KL Patterson, country sweetie with a beautiful voice we can’t get enough of! Read on about KL and learn about her hobbies and where she hopes to perform one day!

KLPATTERSONARTWORK

Name: KL Patterson

Age: 20

Hometown: Dallas, TX

Currently touring? Working on that actually, ask me in a few months. Seriously:)

What artists have inspired you? Oh gosh. Where to start! There are a bajillion that have inspired my music and songwriting, so I’m just gonna narrow it down to the legends that stole my heart from a very young age. George Strait. Josh Turner. Alison Krauss. Brad Paisley. And of course Miss Carrie Underwood!

How long have you been performing? I started entertaining at age seven and began traveling around Texas to sing at all the Opry Houses and House band Shows.

Any albums/singles out? I’ll be releasing my very first radio single around May!!! I’m still getting dates figured out, but keep a look out! It will also be on my debut record (just got all giddy from typing that)!

What do you do for fun? Anything that involves creating a story! I adore photography, art, star gazing (I’m kind of a mushball). I also love hiking, biking, swimming and shoe shopping (had to squeeze that last one in) and of course I have a mad love for songwriting. That one’s my favorite!

Favorite childhood movie: Fox and the hound. No doubt. I have such a soft spot for that movie.

What’s your “guilty pleasure” TV show or movie? I just love scary movies. I always like to see how fast a movie can get me jumping out of my seat! So anything scary and I’m always a softy for the chick flicks.

What instruments do you play? Guitar, mandolin and piano

Tell us about a time you got in trouble as a kid: When I was four I danced and on recital night I got in trouble for trying to “outshine” the other girls with my awesome dance moves….And well, let’s just say I started singing shortly after it!

What is your dream venue? Absolutely 100% The Grand Ole Opry. Just typing that gave me chills!

Do any of your songs have surprising back stories? If so, what are you willing to divulge? Oh yes. I wrote a song with a close cowriter of mine several months ago and I realized after it was written that I have never encountered a situation like what the song was about. To my surprise right after, I did. Can you say Deja vu?! And now it’s my first radio single!

What singers/musical artists are you usually compared to? I’ve always gotten compared to Jennifer Nettles from Sugarland which is a huge compliment because she’s to die for and her voice is golden.

Here’s an adorable photo of KL rocking out as a kid!

KL.baby.nmm.jpg

Follow her on Twitter, Instagram, Facebook, Youtube, and Reverbnation! Also check out her website, KLPatterson.com!

TR ❤

About TumbleRoot

Clothing and accessories for the everyday hickster.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email to get the VIP TumbleRoot blog pass.

Join 89 other followers

Follow us on Twitter!

