New Music Monday: Tyler Mize


Happy New Music Monday y’all! New Music Monday is a blog series TumbleRoot does that features new musicians every Monday. We love discovering these awesome musicians and having a chance to talk to them!

TYLERMIZEnmm

Name: Tyler Mize

Age: 22

Hometown: Batesville, Arkansas

What artists have inspired you? My biggest inspiration as an artist would have to be Elvis Presley because no other entertainer could ever compare. And my biggest inspirations as a musician would have to be Johnny Cash, Paul Simon, Jim Croce, and Damien Rice.

How long have you been performing? I’ve been singing as long as I could remember. Growing up in choir has really helped me to develop the voice that I have today. It wasn’t until I was 18 when I really picked up a guitar and started writing and developing the music I have today.

Any albums/singles out? I do have an album out on iTunes, Amazon, and Spotify called East Side of the County Line.

What song of yours is a MUST LISTEN? “If God Takes Me Now” is probably one of the deepest songs I have ever written. It means so much to me and it touches the hearts of so many people because it was inspired by a true story.

Are you currently touring, or where can we see you in concert? I am not currently touring but I will be doing a show in Linn, Missouri on June 20th at the Linn sports complex to help support the Relay for Life.

What do you do for fun? Besides playing music I absolutely love spending time in the outdoors. Hunting and fishing have become a huge part of my life. Growing up on a farm in North Central Arkansas has really hand a major impact on how I view my time and have fun.

Favorite cereal as a child and why? My favorite cereal as a child would have to be Lucky Charms because I loved eating the little marshmallows.

What instrument do you wish you could play? I would really love to learn how to play the piano. It would allow me to be able to really branch out as a songwriter.

Where was the coolest venue you’ve ever played? I played this very intimate songwriter showcase in my hometown that to this day is still such an important memory in my musical journey. The feeling I got sharing the songs I had written and telling stories about each one really helped me to grow as an artist and break out of my own skin.

Do any of your songs have surprising back stories? If so, what are you willing to divulge? My song “If God Takes Me Now” was inspired by a conversation I had with this older lady the very first time I went to the Grand Ole Opry. I was sitting there watching this show that was absolutely unbelievable thinking one day that will be me up there on that stage. While sitting there this lady next to me began telling me about all her trips to the Opry and how she, her husband, her husband’s best friend, and his wife had been coming to the Opry for years. She had seen everyone from Johnny Cash to Loretta Lynn. The further we got into our conversation she informed me that her husband had just passed away and so had the wife of his best friend. She began to explain that this would be their last trip to the Opry because they wanted to come one last time just to remember. Grabbing my hand in hers she began crying and asked me if I was a Christian. I told her “yes” and in that moment of such pure emotion she looked at me and said, “if God takes me now that would be okay.” Instantly I was blown away and that night I started thinking of lyrics for what is now the most inspirational song I have ever written.

In your opinion, who has the most beautiful singing voice you’ve ever heard? If I had to choose it would be the Christian artist David Phelps.

Most awkward/embarrassing moment? One time I was on a date with a girl and I decided to take her to the school where we could just swing and talk. It had kinda been wet outside and I was wearing this brand new black hoodie I got the day before. Guys being guys I tried showing in the swing and slipped out hitting the ground in the muddiest puddle ever. My black hoodie was now brown and I could not even describe how embarrassing that moment was.

What singers/musical artists are you usually compared to? Brantley Gilbert and David Nail

And we can’t forget Tyler’s super cute baby pic!

tylermizenmb

Follow Tyler on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, iTunes.

Check out our blog every Monday for new music!

xoxo, TR

About TumbleRoot

Clothing and accessories for the everyday hickster.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email to get the VIP TumbleRoot blog pass.

Join 89 other followers

Follow us on Twitter!

