New Music Monday: Jason Owens


new music monday_jason owens

Name: Jason Owens

Age:17


Hometown: Florence, Kentucky


Currently Touring?
We are currently working on a summer tour!


What artists have inspired you?
Brad Paisley is my biggest one! I was 10 years old driving in the car one day with my mom and Brad’s song “The World” came on and I heard his killer licks in that song and knew instantly that’s what I wanted to do. So I went and got my first guitar and just kept practicing and practicing till I came to the point to where I decided to put some videos up on YouTube of me playing some of Brad’s songs. We put it up and a few days past and I came home and read a comment that said Brad Paisley just tweeted about this video. I was so shocked my idol had tweeted about me that was amazing! Brad gave me a huge boost of confidence by doing that! I look back now on the videos and think “ehh… that’s not so good,” but I guess it was for being 13 or 14. I don’t know, haha. Justin Moore has also been a huge influence on me. He was opening up for Brad Paisley at Rupp Arena in Lexington. At the end of his set I was holding my sister up and he handed his guitar down to her! Later on we were at a Skype interview with Justin at CMA Fest where you could ask him questions my little sister went up to ask her question. She said, “do you remember me?” He said, “Yeah, you’re the little girl I gave my guitar to at Rupp.” Then he went on to say, “Where’s your brother? He’s a better guitar player than me.” Oh, let me back track a little…we had put a video up on YouTube of us thanking Justin for the guitar… so that’s how he saw me play. But again, when Justin said that I was humbled and got a huge boost of confidence from that! Those are my big influences, but I also enjoy Keith Urban, Jason Aldean, Luke Bryan. I have lots of influences!  Too many to list, honestly.


How long have you been performing?
I have been seriously performing since I was 14.


Have you been signed by a record label? If so, which one, and when?
At the moment I am an independent artist.


Any albums/singles out?
I have not released an album or single yet.. but we are in the works of releasing my first one. It should be out within the next couple months. I am very excited about it! We got the masters back from Nashville and we are just waiting to finish shooting the video with ENK Media Group out of Indianapolis.


What do you do for fun?
I like to play my instruments and write songs. I enjoy hanging out with my friends when I can. I also occasionally head down to my grandpa’s camp to fish!


What guitars do you play?
I play Crook Custom Guitars made by Bill Crook out of Moundsville, West Virginia. He also makes Brad Paisley’s guitars!


What instrument do you wish you could play?
I can play just about every instrument but the fiddle. I really would like to learn to play that son of a gun. Just have never picked one up.

Tell us about a time you got in trouble as a kid?
I threw rocks at a car once…bad!!! Don’t do that, kids!


Where was the coolest venue you’ve ever played?
I have played lots of cool venues but my favorite would probably have to be the ACM building in Anaheim. I wasn’t singing, though. I was playing guitar for another group.


In your opinion, who has the most beautiful singing voice you’ve ever heard?
I love Carrie Underwood and Christina Aguilera! Vince Gill also has the voice of an angel!


What singers/musical artists are you usually compared to?
Brad Paisley, Eric Church, Keith Urban


Here’s a cute pic of Jason as a kid!
new music monday_jason owens_babyCheck out Jason’s website! Follow him on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and ReverbNation.
Check out our blog every Monday for new music!
xoxo, TR
About TumbleRoot

Clothing and accessories for the everyday hickster.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email to get the VIP TumbleRoot blog pass.

Join 89 other followers

Follow us on Twitter!

