New Music Monday: Elizabeth Lyons


-3

Name: Elizabeth Lyons

Age: 22

Hometown: Winnetka, Illinois

Currently touring? Yes!

What artists have inspired you? Taylor Swift, Faith Hill, Shania Twain, Florida-Georgia Line, Katy Perry

How long have you been performing? Since I can remember! My Mom said I used to sing & dance in my crib. I have always loved singing, dancing! I have been in 18 musical theatre plays: Music Man, Fiddler on the Roof, etc. Was in church and school choirs, performed in piano competitions/recitals, skating competitions (Freestyle 5) skated to Faith Hill (of course). Ballet, Pointe, Jazz, Tap. Lyric dance classes/performances.

Have you been signed by a record label? If so, which one, and when? I’m independent! I created my label its called Roar Records named after my last name Lyons…like lions say roar! I would be open to signing, but I am kinda of a perfectionist managing my own music business, coming from a family with a strong business roots & having high standards. The Vanderbilt graduate in me as well… I guess. I’m undecided if that’s the best route to take. Watching Nashville and Rena leaving her label kinda scares the new artist whether to sign or not ha!

Any albums/singles out? Yes! My debut Elizabeth Lyons EP and single & music video “Everything Tonight” which was recently featured as the On the Horizon Feature on the Hot 30 Live show on Sirius XM The Highway. The EP charted #42 on the national country album iTunes charts in less than 24 hours, remained in the top 200 for a week, and continues to remain on the iTunes charts 400-700 range and iTunes’ Albums Under $8 “Recent Best Sellers” and “All-Time Best Sellers.” On December 6, 2012, the EP debuted as  #10 on Billboard’s Heatseekers East North Central chart. Everything Tonight,” directed by Mason Dixon, also charted #8 on iTunes Country Music Video Charts.

What song of yours is a MUST LISTEN? “Go Girl” a girl power song! My Grandpa’s favorite and the CMA Fest Fan Fair X young fans enjoyed… this alone says a lot about the song haha! It’s a girl anthem. We all need to be supportive of one another: especially in this country music adventure.

Are you currently touring, or where can we see you in concert? February 6 I’ll be in Dallas at the Corner Bar, February 13 in Nashville at Two Old Hippies at a BMI Songwriter Round, February 15-20 in Boston for the National Association of Campus Activities, March 3rd at the Krewe of Orpheus during Mardi Gras, March 15 singing the National Anthem at Milwaukee Admirals Game & March 26 at Nashville Predators. All of my tour dates are on my Facebook page & website.

What do you do for fun? Hang with my family & friends. Snow skiing. My sisters and I like to watch funny YouTube videos. Being a film major, I love to create my own videos. Read menus then dine. Make banana & pumpkin bread & rice krispy treats. Shop. Barry’s Boot Camp in Nashville.

Favorite childhood cartoon? I am a true Disney girl. Loved all the princesses. We went to Disney World every year to visit Grandma and Grandpa in Tampa, Florida. Especially loved BELLE in Beauty & the Beast and the Little Mermaid. 

What instrument do you wish you could play? The mandolin! In my song “Forgive & Forget” my producer Matt Nolen plays it. I’m obsessed! Someday I will…it’s a goal!

Tell us about a time you got in trouble as a kid? Ding dong ditching my neighbor/guy friend: my friends and I all had a childhood crush on who now plays for the NY Rangers.

Where was the coolest venue you’ve ever played? Summerfest in Milwaukee, Wisconsin. My whole family was there and it was the biggest venue I’ve ever played with 5000-7000 people. All the fans were standing there in the rain and then it stopped raining as I started to play. It was a magical night.

Do any of your songs have surprising back stories? If so, what are you willing to divulge? After traveling this summer to radio stations, everyone continually asked me about “Boys In Every Zipcode”…there’s a funny story behind it… basically a boyfriend I was with kissed another girl in front me, I went to bed incredibly sad, woke up to a few text messages from other guy friends or exes, I wanted my boyfriend so badly to see those texts to prove that I was wanted by others…and so I wrote the song as a a come back line to him “you don’t know but I’ve got ‘Boys in Every Zipcode’”. Its a pretty funny one: I like to make people laugh. Hopefully this song does just that!

In your opinion, who has the most beautiful singing voice you’ve ever heard? One of my first concerts was Rolling Stones… Mick Jagger… his voice is unique, he commands the stage like no else! Then I saw Paul McCartney in Nashville… he has such soul in his voice and incredibly talented-played 7 instruments in one show…crazy talented! I believe it’s not just about the most beautiful voice- rather a person and how they are at being a true entertainer like Mick Jagger. Many can stand and sing beautifully…but the art of winning the audience and them embracing you I believe the true art. Must have a lot of charisma be soulful to do that. It’s very undefined. More about personality. Like Luke Bryan. You just love him after seeing him perform.

What singers/musical artists are you usually compared to? Taylor Swift, Kimberly Perry (of the Band Perry), Martina McBride, Kellie Pickler, Carole King, Sheryl Crow.

-4

Here’s a funny picture of me with no pants on Christmas morning singing at a microphone…funny my sister is holding a bitty baby (she’s in college at Boston University studying to be an elementary teacher)Follow Elizabeth on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter.

Check out our blog every Monday for new music!

xoxo, TR

About TumbleRoot

Clothing and accessories for the everyday hickster.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email to get the VIP TumbleRoot blog pass.

Join 89 other followers

Follow us on Twitter!

